Pertinent Legislation

Congress established the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program (Space Grant) with Title II of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Authorization Act of 1988. The National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, through the designation of Space Grant consortia and the establishment of Space Grant programs and fellowships, was designed to broaden the base of universities and individuals contributing to and benefiting from aerospace science and technology and ultimately contribute to the development and utilization of space resources.

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) was charged with implementation and oversight of this program. (Public L. 100-147, October 30, 1987, 101 Stat. 869-875, 42 U.S.C. 2486; and 14 CFR Part 1259, March 13, 1989.) NASA currently distributes funds to 52 university-based Space Grant Consortia in all fifty states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. Each consortium is funded annually with a Space Grant award that requires a 100 percent match and with funds for fellowships. Designation of Space Grant consortia shall be for five years and may be continued based on a merit review at the beginning of the fifth year and at five year intervals thereafter.

Each Space Grant consortium shall designate a Space Grant Program Director; establish a Space Grant office; develop and implement programs of public service, interdisciplinary space-related programs, advisory activities, and cooperation with industry, research laboratories, State and local governments, and other colleges and universities, particularly institutions in their State and/or region with significantly large enrollments of racial minorities who are underrepresented in science and technology; and provide nonfederal matching funds for their Space Grant program equal to that provided by NASA.

National Program Objectives

  • Establish and maintain a national network of universities with interests and capabilities in aeronautics, space and related fields;

  • Encourage cooperative programs among universities, aerospace industry, and Federal, state and local governments;

  • Encourage interdisciplinary training, research and public service programs related to aerospace;

  • Recruit and train U.S. citizens, especially women, underrepresented minorities, and persons with disabilities, for careers in aerospace science and technology; and,

  • Promote a strong science, mathematics, and technology education base from elementary through secondary levels.

Questions should be directed to
Ms. Diane DeTroye